June 14, 2023

Depending on their skill sets, educational qualifications, and work experience, businesses and skilled professionals can migrate to Australia. To determine your eligibility for Australian Skilled Immigration for permanent residency, a positive skill assessment test result is required. The Skillselect system is a point-based system, with applicants receiving points for a variety of criteria ranging from age to work experience.

The Skilled Occupation List (SOL) includes occupations that are under 50 years old, have English language proficiency, and sufficient work experience in the related discipline.

General Skilled Migration Visa

Applicants must nominate a skilled occupation from Australia’s Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL), Regional Occupation List (ROL), or Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) ROL List to be eligible to apply under the General Skilled Migration program. The applicant’s skills must also be evaluated by the appropriate assessing authority for their occupation.

1. Skilled Independent (Subclass 189) Visa

A skilled independent visa does not require a sponsor and can be obtained through the point system. If your nominated occupation is on the MLTSSL‘s occupation list, you can submit an EOI(Expression of Interest) and be invited to apply for the visa.

2. Skilled Nominated (Subclass 190) Visa

If you have a Skilled Nomination visa, you can live, study, and work in Australia permanently. To apply, you must submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) using the nominated occupation list of your state or territory.

3. Skilled Work Regional (Subclass 491) Visa

Skilled work regional visas is another name for provisional visas . Professionals and their families can live, study, and work in Australia’s preferred regional areas for five years. Visas are only valid for five years. After three years of completing all documents and the Competency Demonstration Report (CDR), you will be eligible for permanent residence.

4. Age Group

Applicants are scored based on their age group at the time of application, with those between the ages of 25 and 32 receiving the most points. Those aged 45 and up gain nothing.


5. English Language Proficiency

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is required of the majority of Skillselect applicants. Applicants from native English-speaking countries and those who have received a tertiary degree (equivalent to an Australian Bachelor’s degree or higher qualification) from a university where English is the main language are exempt from taking an English language proficiency test. IELTS, PTE, and other recognized language tests would be helpful in order to claim points for Superior or Proficient English language skills.

English language proficiency (IELTS Score)Points
Superior (IELTS score of 8 or more)20
Proficient (IELTS score of 7 or more)10
Competent (IELTS score of 6 or more)0

6. Skilled Employment

Points are awarded to applicants who have worked in a skilled occupation in Australia or another country. To earn points for skilled employment, experience must have been gained within the last ten years in a nominated occupation on one of Australia’s above-mentioned lists or an occupation that is closely related. Separate points are awarded for skilled employment experience gained in Australia and elsewhere. Points from both tables can be combined, but the total number of points awarded for skilled employment is limited to 20.

Length of skilled employment WITHIN Australia (within last 10 years)Points
1 Year5
3 Years10
5 Years15
8 Years20
Length of skilled employment OUTSIDE Australia (within last 10 years)Points
3 Years5
5 Years10
8 Years15

7. Educational Qualifications

Only the applicant’s highest qualification earns points. If an applicant has both a doctorate and a Bachelor’s degree, only the doctorate will be awarded points.To be awarded points, any qualifications must be related to the applicant’s nominated occupation and recognized as comparable to Australian qualifications; this is usually verified during the skills assessment for the applicant’s nominated occupation.

Bachelor’s or Master’s degree15
Australian Diploma or trade qualification10
The assessing authority in assessment of a skilled occupation recognised award or qualification10

8. Australian Qualifications

The Australian Immigration points calculator takes into account Australian educational qualifications as well. Five points will be received by those who have studied in Australia for at least two years. After two years of study, any degree, diploma, or trade qualification earned in Australia will be worth 5 points.

9. Regional Study

It is necessary to have at least two years of educational experience in Australia. Students are required to live in regional Australia. Regional Australians and residents of low-population areas will be awarded five points. It will assist you in realizing your dream of settling in Australia.

10. Community Language Skills

Applicants with translator/interpreter level language skills in one of Australia’s designated community languages can earn 5 points. These abilities must be recognized by the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters in Australia (NAATI).

11. Spouse/Partner Skills and Qualifications

If the applicant’s spouse/partner is included on the visa application and is not an Australian resident/citizen, their skills may be counted toward the total number of points. To gain points, the spouse/partner must meet the Australian General Skilled Migration basic requirements for age, English language proficiency, and nominated occupation (as listed above).

12. Professional Year

Applicants will also receive 5 points if they have completed an approved Professional Year in Australia within the last four years. A Professional Year is a planned professional development program that combines formal education with on-the-job training. The professional year must have been spent in their chosen or a closely related occupation.


Australia is the ultimate getaway for young people. Younger people go to great lengths to arrive and get PR. A Continuing Professional Development is also a part of the CDR for Engineers Australia. Among the top platforms offering report writing services, we at How to write CDR Report are known for having a strong team of writers, engineers, and IT professionals to ensure complete customer happiness and offer high-quality services.

Hey, like this? Why not share it with a buddy?